Do-It-Yourself Library: E-Books
I Only Want To Find E-Books
There is an easy one-step way to search only for e-books in the library's Search Everything tool. The tips will make it easier
1. To limit to ebooks, under the "Source types" from the left-side menu check eBooks to narrow down to eBooks only. As shown below
If a specific eBook that you need is not available through the NWACC library, request it through Interlibrary Loan.
As well try these eBooks databases, some of them might also have other source types apart from eBooks.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Use this to: find reliable, citable background information across all academic subjects.
Find: reference entries from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences, STEM, health, business, and more. Includes images, audio files, and videos to enhance your understanding.
Great for: getting started on a research project, developing and narrowing research topics, building foundational knowledge in any subject, understanding key concepts and terminology, or finding reputable background information for essays and discussions. -
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Use this to: explore a vast collection of academic eBooks across multiple disciplines.
Find: full-text academic eBooks from leading publishers, covering subjects like business, education, health, technology, humanities, social sciences, and many more.
Great for: reading in-depth scholarly content, citing reputable sources for research papers, downloading chapters for offline reading, taking notes directly within texts, finding comprehensive overviews of complex topics, or exploring foundational knowledge in any academic field. -
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Use this to: explore a comprehensive range of academic eBooks from leading publishers.
Find: thousands of high-quality, full-text academic eBooks and digitized books covering various academic disciplines, including business, education, health, technology, and more.
Great for: accessing in-depth scholarly materials, obtaining authoritative resources for assignments, reading entire books online, downloading chapters for offline study, making notes directly within texts, or generating citations for research projects. -
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Use this to: explore Gale’s extensive eBook collection covering a wide range of subjects.
Find: eBooks, encyclopedias, and specialized reference sources across various disciplines, along with integrated features like citation tools, text-to-speech, and translation options.
Great for: finding background information and foundational knowledge on any subject, accessing overviews of complex or highly debated topics, locating authoritative definitions and explanations, or utilizing built-in tools for reading and citing sources. -
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Use this to: build technical and professional skills using interactive, real-world learning materials for business and technology.
Find: ebooks, audiobooks, videos, courses, case studies, and conference talks covering a wide range of topics in technology, business, and design.
Great for: learning new software and code languages, exploring industry trends, and developing skills in computer science, graphic design, IT, business, and math courses. -
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Use this to: access a collection of scholarly journals, eBooks, and reference works to find in-depth, peer-reviewed research across almost every academic field.
Find: peer-reviewed articles covering science, technology, medicine, health, social sciences, humanities, business, and education.
Great for: conducting research for upper-level papers, finding studies, exploring advanced topics in your major, or finding credible academic sources for projects and assignments.
