AAA PLEASE DO NOT ERASE--Essential stuff and mapped boxes for other guides - Unpublished
info for faculty mapped to all other guides
Need Help??
- Call Us: 479-619-3154
- Text Us: 479-802-0570
- library@nwacc.edu
- Make an Appointment
- Questions & Comments
Need Help?
Follow Us Online
Follow us to find out what's happening at your Library!
Research Appointment with a Librarian
Librarians are available to help with all stages of the research process from picking a topic to finding sources, citing them correctly, and formatting your paper or presentation. For the best help, please attach your assignment guidelines.
- 30-minute appointments
- Individualized - select the focus & tell us what you need
- Interactive
- Librarian Appointment Scheduler (ConexED)Log on to your ConexED account to book a time with a librarian. Meet in person, by video, or phone.
The Research Process
- Video: The Research Process (from Credo's Instruct)
This video will walk you through each step to help you understand the assignment, choose a topic, do background research, create a research question or thesis, search for information, evaluate what you find, and write the paper.
Background Search Tools (Library Databases)
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowGeneral and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more.
- Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
Selected e-books in literature, history, science & health. All books in this collection are also available in print in the Library.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality and professionally edited quick information.
- Merriam-Webster Collegiate® Dictionary in Britannica This link opens in a new windowAmerica's largest, most comprehensive dictionary.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowWidely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language.
Search Tools for Pre-Research and Beginning Research
General Overviews / Beginning Research / Topic Selection Tools
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowA collection of edited research books. Try the Concept Map!
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowHigh-quality and professionally edited quick information.
- Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new windowMagazines, newspapers, and reference books covering current events, pop culture, and more.
