Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AAA PLEASE DO NOT ERASE--Essential stuff and mapped boxes for other guides - Unpublished: Articles: Academic Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers

info for faculty mapped to all other guides

Magazines vs. Journals

Having a hard time telling magazines apart from academic or professional journals? Here are some helpful clues:

Magazines:

  • Intended for general audiences
  • Often written by generalists
  • Articles do not undergo peer review
  • May report on research secondhand
  • Often do not include citations
  • Easy to read
  • Attractive layout and photographs
  • Many advertisements
  • Published commercially for profit

Journals:

  • Written for experts by experts or students in the field
  • Articles often undergo peer review
  • Often report on original research
  • Articles include citations
  • Lots of technical jargon
  • Illustrations often limited to charts
  • Few or no advertisements
  • Often published by educational institutions or professional groups

What Are Scholarly Journals?

Articles: Academic Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers

The following databases are best for finding original research, current events, and other articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers--although you'll find other types of content (images, videos, audio files, ebooks, etc.) as well. They cover a range of topics.

Academic Search Premier
A popular resource found in many academic settings worldwide, this resource was designed for the premier researcher, rich with the most valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content available. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.

Access World News
NewsBank's Access World News database features full-text articles from national and world newspapers and transcripts of broadcast news reports. The database includes full text from the Northwest Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (2015-present), Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (1994-present), Arkansas Times (2004-present), Arkansas Traveler (2004-present), Benton County Daily Record (2001-2015), Morning News of Northwest Arkansas (2004-2009), Northwest Arkansas Times (2001-2015), Rogers Morning News (2009-2015), and Springdale Morning News (2009-2015).

EBSCOhost Web
EBSCOhost Web allows users to search multiple EBSCO databases with a single search interface. It covers a wide array of subjects, including astronomy, biology, business, communications, history, law, literary criticism, medicine, philosophy, politics, psychology, religion, and sociology.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses. Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. It is updated daily with new content and contains over 2 million full text articles.

Gale PowerSearch
Gale PowerSearch allows users to cross-search the content of multiple Gale databases (including the content of Gale Virtual Reference Library eBook titles) at one time through a streamlined, common user interface.

New York Times With Index
The New York Times With Index provides scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The database offers searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from The New York Times from 1851 to 2010. (Note: New York Times content from 1985 to present is available in Biography in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, U.S. History in Context, and World History in Context. Content from 1980 to present is also accessible through LexisNexis Academic.)

Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. The database also contains full text for more than 300 regional newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, and more.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, healthcare to immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.

SIRS Issues Researcher
SIRS Issues Researcher offers analysis and opinions covering the pros, cons, and everything in between for 325 social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues. Editorially created Topic Overview pages with engaging Essential Questions with answers, and viewpoint articles help build solid foundations for understanding the issues. Articles and graphics in SIRS Issues Researcher are carefully selected according to strict SIRS criteria for content reliability, relevance, and age-appropriateness.

TOPICsearch
Students, teachers, and librarians can use TOPICsearch to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom. To support discussion, TOPICsearch contains full text for more than 85,000 articles from diverse content sources.

Finding Journals by Title

The Journals A-to-Z tool tells you whether the NWACC Library currently has full-text access to a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper.

Simply search for the publication's title (TimeNational Geographic, etc.) in the main search field. Search results will include links to databases that contain full-text articles.

Research Smarter Tips

Check out these helpful resources from the Library's Research Smarter guide.

Need Help?

Call Us: 479-619-3154
Text Us: 479-802-0570

Make a Research Appointment

Questions & Comments


  • Burns Hall 1304
    1 College Drive, Bentonville, AR 72712
  • Call: 479-619-4244 | Text: 479-802-0570
  • About Us
  • Check us out on Facebook Watch us on YouTubeEmail Us