Autism Acceptance Month

Unravelling the complexities of relationships and sexuality, this straight-talking guide will help you to navigate the associated social, emotional and physical issues. Expert advice and real life examples give you the knowledge to reflect on your own sexuality, provide you with information on different types of relationship, and gives you the confidence to decide which type of relationship is right for you. Together with important information on sexual health, this book will help you to understand how to find and maintain a relationship of your choosing in a safe and enjoyable way. Exploring the often unspoken rules of sex and relationships, this book also covers often unaddressed topics, such as: · what sexual attraction looks and feels like · how to identify your own sexual identity and preferences (and how they may change) · what your rights are, and how to stay safe · having children, or choosing not to, the impact of this on relationships · how to recognise power imbalances within relationships, and what to do

Filled with strategies and advice, this empowering guide presents practical ways to improve the mental wellbeing of people on the Autism Spectrum. This helpful guide focusses on the specific difficulties that can arise for people on the autism spectrum who may also experience a mental illness. The book includes information on common mental health issues, such as depression and anxiety, as well as strategies for improving sleep patterns and mindfulness. Providing guidance on the benefits and drawbacks of therapy pets, medication, and psychotherapy, the authors offer balanced perspectives on treatment options and introduce self-help strategies tailored to meet your needs and improve your mental wellbeing. A number of short personal narratives from people on the autism spectrum and mental health issues illustrate the text. The book also includes a list of resources, books and organisations that can provide further support and inspiration.

Why is Autism Spectrum Disorder so misunderstood in girls and women and why do so many go under the radar without the support that they need? This practical guide explains the unique issues that affect females with autism and provides tools and strategies that girls, women and their families can use in day-to-day life. Following the story of Alison, a girl diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome, through both childhood and adulthood, we get an inside view of the challenges that girls and women with autism face. Straightforward information and advice is provided on key topics including: · social skills and communication · how to overcome bullying · sensory issues and food sensitivity · the need for routine · perceptions of gender · and physiological changes. Essential reading for parents of daughters on the spectrum, as well as girls and women who carry the diagnosis themselves.

Going to college can be a daunting prospect for any young person, but for teenagers on the autism spectrum this is especially true. This book describes the unique needs that ASD students entering further or higher education are likely to have. The author identifies the key skill-sets they will need to develop in order to be successful in college and in life, and shows how they can be helped to develop these. She outlines the skills required for success in further and higher education in relation to the strengths and weaknesses of individuals with ASDs, and explains how those weaknesses can be ameliorated to enable success at college. Describing the unique accommodations and support that students with ASD will need, and the skills for which they will need particular help, she provides effective intervention strategies that can be implemented throughout the period leading up to college entrance. This book is essential reading for psychologists, special educators, educational therapists, high school teachers/career counselors, and other professionals supporting high school and college students on the autism spectrum. Parents of such students will also benefit from the ideas presented in this book.

Encouraging people on the autism spectrum to foster positive emotions and character traits can dramatically improve their lives in every way, and help to strengthen their ability to cope with everyday challenges and setbacks. Drawing on the key concepts of positive psychology, this book looks in detail at five positive character traits - resilience, optimism, humor, kindness, and self-efficacy - and offers tried and tested strategies for bolstering each strength in individuals with ASD. The authors provide rich and varied lesson plans which contain a multitude of activities designed to build on the five areas identified, and which can be easily implemented at home, at school, or in the community. This complete "toolkit" provides parents, educators and other professionals with everything they need to know to use positive psychology strategies to support people of all ages and abilities on the autism spectrum.

Being diagnosed with autism as an adult can be disorienting and isolating; however, if you can understand the condition and how it affects perceptions, relationships, and your relationship with the world in general, a happy and successful life is attainable. Through an introduction to the autism spectrum, and how the Level 1 diagnosis is characterised, the author draws on personal experiences to provide positive advice on dealing with life, health, and relationships following an adult diagnosis. The effect of autism on social skills is described with tips for dealing with family and personal relationships, parenting, living arrangements, and employment. Important topics include disclosure, available resources, and options for different therapeutic routes. On reading this book, you will learn a lot more about the autism spectrum at Level 1, be able to separate the facts from the myths, and gain an appreciation of the strengths of autism, and how autism can affect many aspects of everyday life. Drawing from the author's lived experience, this book is an essential guide for all newly diagnosed adults on the autism spectrum, their families and friends, and all professionals new to working with adults with ASDs.

In this rich and diverse collection, 28 writers describe what positive experiences they have had as an autistic person, and show how the most unexpected subject areas can be a source of the positive. They demonstrate that individuals can, and do, experience life in positive ways, sometimes in the face of adversity. Sharing both dark and joyful moments with unreserved honesty, their insights are moving, often hilarious, creative, and highly intelligent, and usually surprising. From hair-raising travelling experiences to parenting with verve, volunteering to teaching, running a marathon to taking on a PhD, they show that autism need not limit life. Introduced by Luke Beardon and Dean Worton, their stories challenge stereotypes surrounding autism, empower, and entertain.

In this innovative book, Dr. Temple Grandin gets down to the REAL issues of autism, the ones parents, teachers, and individuals on the spectrum face every day. Temple offers helpful do's and don'ts, practical strategies, and try-it-now tips, all based on her "insider" perspective and a great deal of research. These are just some of the specific topics Temple delves into: How and Why People with Autism Think Differently Economical Early Intervention Programs that Work How Sensory Sensitivities Affect Learning Behaviors Caused by a Disability vs. Just Bad Behaviors Teaching People with Autism to Live in an Unpredictable World Alternative Medicine vs. Conventional Medicine Employment Ideas for Adults with Autism This revised and expanded edition contains revisions based on the most current autism research, as well as 14 additional articles including: The Role of Genetics and Environmental Factors in Causing Autism Understanding the Mind of a Nonverbal Person with Autism Finding Mentors and Appropriate Colleges And many more!    

A cutting-edge account of the latest science of autism, from the best-selling author and advocate When Temple Grandin was born in 1947, autism had only just been named. Today it is more prevalent than ever, with one in 88 children diagnosed on the spectrum. And our thinking about it has undergone a transformation in her lifetime: Autism studies have moved from the realm of psychology to neurology and genetics, and there is far more hope today than ever before thanks to groundbreaking new research into causes and treatments. Now Temple Grandin reports from the forefront of autism science, bringing her singular perspective to a thrilling journey into the heart of the autism revolution. Weaving her own experience with remarkable new discoveries, Grandin introduces the neuroimaging advances and genetic research that link brain science to behavior, even sharing her own brain scan to show us which anomalies might explain common symptoms. We meet the scientists and self-advocates who are exploring innovative theories of what causes autism and how we can diagnose and best treat it. Grandin also highlights long-ignored sensory problems and the transformative effects we can have by treating autism symptom by symptom, rather than with an umbrella diagnosis. Most exciting, she argues that raising and educating kids on the spectrum isn't just a matter of focusing on their weaknesses; in the science that reveals their long-overlooked strengths she shows us new ways to foster their unique contributions. From the "aspies" in Silicon Valley to the five-year-old without language, Grandin understands the true meaning of the wordspectrum.The Autistic Brain is essential reading from the most respected and beloved voices in the field.