LibGuides: Autism Acceptance Month: Home

What is Autism?

"Autism is a complex developmental disorder distinguished by difficulties with social interaction, verbal and nonverbal communication, and behavioral problems, including repetitive behaviors and narrow focus of interest. As of 2013, practitioners group autism with the former diagnoses Asperger's syndrome and pervasive developmental disorder in the autism spectrum disorders (ASD)."

Davidson, T., Turkington, C. A., & Blackwell, A. H. (2018). Autism. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), Gale virtual reference library: The Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied health (4th ed.). Gale. Credo Reference: https://proxy01.nwacc.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/galegnaah/autism/0?institutionId=5073

Need More Research?

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Search a broad, multidisciplinary, full-text database of journals and books published by John Wiley & Sons with access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 15,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works and laboratory protocols.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. *This is a Traveler resource. The Traveler Statewide Resource project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics. *This is a Traveler resource. The Traveler Statewide Resource project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.