Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Style Quick Guide: Citing Print Articles

Creating Bibliography Entries for Print Articles

Articles appear in newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, reference books, and electronic databases. The format for the citation varies depending on the type of publication.

Article in a Newspaper

Note:

1. Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication, Page number(s).  

1. Chris Casteel, “Fallin Discusses Fiscal Cliff with Obama, Leaders,” The Daily Oklahoman, December 5, 2012, 5A.

Bibliography:

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Newspaper, Date of Publication, Page range of article.

Casteel, Chris. “Fallin Discusses Fiscal Cliff with Obama, Leaders.” The Daily Oklahoman, December 5, 2012, 5A.

Article in a Magazine

Note:

1. Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, Page number(s).

1. Michael Grunwald, “How to Avoid the Fiscal Cliff,” Time, December 10, 2012, 42.

Bibliography:

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, Page range of article.

Grunwald, Michael. “How to Avoid the Fiscal Cliff.” Time, December 10, 2012, 40-43.

Article in a Scholarly Journal

Note:

1. Author’s First and Last Name, “Title of Article,” Title of Scholarly Journal Volume, no. Issue (Year of Publication): Page number(s).

1. Richard C. Hall, “Balkan Wars,” History Today 62, no. 11 (2012): 37.

Bibliography:

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Scholarly Journal Volume, no. Issue (Year of Publication): Page range of article.

Hall, Richard C. “Balkan Wars.” History Today 62, no. 11 (2012): 36-42.

Article in a Reference Book

Note:

1. Author’s First Name and Last Name, Title of Reference Book (Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication), s.v. “Title of Article.”

1. David M. Randall, The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music (Cambridge: Belknap Press, 1996), s.v. “Randall, D.M.”

Bibliography:

Author’s Last and First Name. Title of Reference Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.

Randall, David M. The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music. Cambridge: Belknap Press, 1996.

For More Information


  • Burns Hall 1304
    1 College Drive, Bentonville, AR 72712
  • Call: 479-619-4244 | Text: 479-802-0570
  • About Us
  • Check us out on Facebook Watch us on YouTubeEmail Us