Citation Help
Chicago Style
This style has been published for more than 100 years as The Chicago Manual of Style by the University of Chicago Press.
Chicago citation can be styled in two formats which determine how sources are referenced in text. It is important to know which your instructor requires.
Notes-Bibliography - in-text references are cited in numbered endnotes or footnotes with a superscript number.
Author-Date - in-text references are made parenthetically and include the author and publication year.
-
Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new windowConsult the official CMOS guide online.
-
Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) - Chicago StyleAn open access, user-friendly guide. No ads except for the college's.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
-
Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Use this to: master grammar, punctuation, and citation rules for academic writing in Chicago style format.
Find: the complete, searchable text of the official Chicago Manual of Style, along with tools like a Citation Quick Guide, frequently asked questions, and personalized style sheets for both Notes and Bibliography and Author-Date systems.
Great for: applying Chicago style rules to research papers, accurately citing sources, improving grammar and punctuation for scholarly writing, or creating correctly formatted bibliographies for history and humanities assignments.
Chicago Author-Date
-
Chicago Manual of Style Online - Author/DateOfficial site of the Chicago Manual of Style for author-date citations.
(๑•́ㅿ•̀๑)
Chicago Notes-Bibliography
-
Chicago Manual of Style Online - Notes/BibliographyThe Chicago Manual of Style in an online format. Link takes you directly to the notes and bibliography sample citations.
＼(^o^)／
NoodleTools
-
NoodleTools This link opens in a new windowGet support for notes/bibliography Chicago to cite your sources and organize your notes. When Chicago Notes/Bibliography conflicts with Turabian, NoodleTools uses the Chicago style.
Turabian
Turabian is a modified version of Chicago style designed for students and published as A Manual for Writers of Research Papers. It was originally written by Kate L. Turabian and is an official derivative published by the University of Chicago Press.
Like Chicago style, it can also be formatted as Author/Date or Notes/Bibliography. While you can use NoodleTools for Turabian notes/bibliography, when Turabian conflicts with Chicago, Chicago wins in NoodleTools.
-
Turabian: Chicago Style for Students and ResearchersOfficial site
-
Turabian Reference List SampleA sample Turabian author-date style reference list in PDF format.
-
Turabian Author-Date Sample CitationsProvides sample reference list entries by source type. Each sample is accompanied by an example of a corresponding in-text citation.
-
Turabian Style Tip SheetsOfficial Chicago style, in easy-to-use, printable PDF paper-writing tip sheets for students. Guidelines are per Kate L. Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (9th ed.) and are fully compatible with The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.).
[Important: Directions from your instructor overrule these guidelines.]