Skip to main content

Professional Development for Faculty & Staff: Research Databases

Helpful professional development resources from NWACC Library, other NWACC departments, and the Internet

Professional Development Research Databases

The following databases are recommended for finding professional development content. Access the Library's research databases off-campus with your My NWACC Connection username and password.

Review the specialized databases below, or search the complete research database collection.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Known for its unprecedented depth of coverage, this comprehensive career research database is organized into three main sections: through Industries and Careers, users can explore a multitude of industries, career fields, and professions; Plan Your Education helps users find the schools that fit them best; and Launch Your Career offers solid advice to help users perfect the skills that beget success. The material draws from a range of authoritative sources, including more than 880 updated articles and entries from the Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition.

LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library provides the most comprehensive selection of academic and career-related resources available in one platform. Each of its Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, eBooks, and information students need to achieve at school, at work, or in life. Available Learning Centers include College Preparation, College Students, Popular Software Tutorials, GED Preparation, Job Search & Workplace Skills, Jobs & Careers, and more.

ProQuest Education Journals
ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. Coverage: 1988 - current.

Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals covering a variety of topics of interest to teachers, including assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science and mathematics, teacher education, and more.

Need Help?

Call Us: 479-619-3154
Text Us: 479-802-0570

Video Appointments

In Person Appointments
Questions & Comments Form


  • Burns Hall 1304
    1 College Drive, Bentonville, AR 72712
  • Call: 479-619-4244 | Text: 479-802-0570
  • About Us
  • Check us out on Facebook Watch us on YouTubeEmail Us