Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Databases for Early Childhood Education Research
To access, you may be prompted for your My NWACC Connection login credentials.
The specialized databases below are best for limiting content to publications that focus on education or closely related fields. That said, the majority of our databases provide content on a variety of topics, including education. While the resources below are a great place to start, you will find additional resources related to the field by following the links to the left.
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)
Provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than one million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents dating back to 1966.
Learning Express is an interactive online learning platform featuring practice tests, tutorials, and eBooks related to job search and workplace skills improvement, career certification and licensing exam preparation, college entrance and graduate school admissions exam preparation, GED exam preparation, and basic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math, for all ages. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.
Education Journals Database
Access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. *This is a Traveler resource. The Traveler Statewide Resource project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) provides indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals covering a variety of topics of interest to teachers, including assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science and mathematics, teacher education, and more.