Zotero is a easy to use tool which allows one to collect, organise and cite references. Apart from this it also has the collaborate feature for sharing/finding work from peers. Zotero also comes with web browser extension using which one can automatically add to a personal library with a single click.
a. Zotero is the only research tool that automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint on arXiv.org, a journal article from JSTOR, a news story from the New York Times, or a book from your university library catalog, Zotero has you covered with support for thousands of sites.
Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for with just a few keystrokes.
b. Zotero organizes your research into collections that act like iTunes playlists. Research items can be added to any number of named collections and subcollections, which in turn can be organized however you like. With saved searches, you can create smart collections that automatically fill with relevant materials as you add them to your library.
Assign tags to your library items to organize your research using your own keywords. The tag selector enables you to filter your library instantly to view matching items. Zotero can even use database and library data to tag items automatically as you add them.
c. Whether you need to create footnotes, endnotes, in-text citations, or bibliographies, Zotero will do all the dirty work for you, leaving you free to focus on your writing. Create citations in Word and OpenOffice without ever leaving your word processor and add references to an email, a Google Doc, or some other editor simply by dragging one or more references out of Zotero.
Ready to submit your manuscript to Tropical Doctor or French Historical Studies? We've got you covered: with native integration of the powerful and flexible Citation Style Language (CSL), Zotero supports thousands of publication formats with more styles added daily.
d. Zotero automatically synchronizes your data across as many devices as you choose. Add to your research library on your work PC, and organize your collections on your home laptop. All of your notes, files, and bibliographic data remain seamlessly and silently up to date. Returning from field work? Your data will be waiting for you when you get home.
Upgrading to a new computer? Zotero will automatically pull down a complete copy of your research library from our server network. Even if you don't yet have Zotero installed, you can always access your research from any web browser in the world.
e. Create and join research groups to focus on any topic you choose. Each group can share its own research library, complete with files, bibliographic data, notes, and discussion threads. Tag and analyze your research together with others. Work with a single colleague or an entire class: Zotero groups can include as many members as you please.
Zotero groups can be private or public, open or closed. You decide. For example, you and a few colleagues might initially work on a research project in private. After publication, why not share your research notes and library with the world?
Here are some links to basic information on how to get started with Zotero