Skip to main content
Classes have moved online. Digitally available Library resources
Email us at email@example.com
Check your NWACC email for new dates to return Library equipment
. Library books, DVDs, and VHS can be returned using these instructions
Reference: Topic Overviews & More
The research databases below are best for topic overviews, background info, brief facts, statistics, definitions, etc. from subject-specific and general encyclopedias, textbooks, dictionaries, and other reference sources. They cover a broad array of topics, and may also include additional resources beyond reference materials.
Covers every major subject, from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. The award-winning titles in Credo Reference include general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more. Credo's collections are continuously updated to reflect the most relevant, up-to-date content.
CultureGrams World Edition
Contains reports on more than 200 countries and cultures, focusing on twenty-five categories including history, personal appearance, gestures, family, economy, and more. Statistical tables and an extensive glossary make the World Edition perfect for student projects, research, and more.
Offers a wide variety of full-text interdisciplinary content on virtually any subject area to tackle assignments, papers, projects and presentations. The database includes thousands of full-text proprietary titles from Gale and more than 80 strategic publishing partners, including the complete contents of Drama for Students, Epics for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry for Students, and Short Stories for Students.
Gale General OneFile
Provides access to magazines, newspapers, and reference books through one easy interface. This general interest database offers the latest content covering current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, healthcare to immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
World Book Academic
A comprehensive reference tool that includes encyclopedia, multimedia, e-book, and primary source databases, fully integrated in a single search. Research tools, including Research Portfolio, Citation Builder, dictionary, and guides help users compile information and develop ideas for research assignments.
Finding Journals by Title
The Journals A-to-Z tool tells you whether the NWACC Library currently has full-text access to a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper.
Simply search for the publication's title (Time, National Geographic, etc.) in the main search field. Search results will include links to databases that contain full-text articles.