Skip to main content

The Library has limited operations this fall. Visit our Return to Operations guide for information on available services.
Please Ask Us!, email library@nwacc.edu, or text 479-802-0570 if you need assistance.

Services For Students

Welcome to the Pauline Whitaker Library at Northwest Arkansas Community College. 

The Library is located on the first floor of Burns Hall. It serves the information needs of NWACC's students, faculty, and staff.

Since its founding in 1990, the Library's collection has grown to include over 30,000 physical books and videos, and thousands of digital ebooks and streaming media.  The Library also provides the NWACC community with access to over 100 subscription databases, which index thousands of electronic books, periodicals, and multimedia files.

Online Forms for Students

Student Forms

Tutoring, Math Center, Writing Center

Staff Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

Alexis Jorgensen

ajorgensen@nwacc.edu 

9am-3pm       9am-2pm 9am-1pm  

Julio Bonilla

jbonilla@nwacc.edu

8:00am-1pm

  8am-1pm   8am-1pm    

Tutoring is available online for the Fall 2020 semester. Book an online appointment at https://nwacc.libcal.com/appointments/tutoring.

Tutor Subject Areas:

Alexis Jorgenson

  • Pre-Algebra
  • Beginning Algebra
  • Intermediate Algebra
  • College Algebra
  • Survey Mathematical Structures I
  • Principles of Biology I
  • General Geology I

Julio Bonilla

  • Pre-Algebra
  • Beginning Algebra
  • Intermediate Algebra
  • College Algebra
  • Plane Trigonometry
  • Intro to Computer Information
  • Intro to Programming Logic
  • College Chemistry I
  • C++ Programming
  • Principles of Biology I
  • Intro to Engineering
  • Principles of Macroeconomics
  • World Civilizations Since 1500

Visit the Tutoring webpage.

Online tutoring is also available through “Brainfuse.” This option is found via your NWACC connection under “resources”, “online tutoring.” Brainfuse gives you access to free online tutorials, study guides, and you can chat with a live tutor during the following days/times: M-F, 5pm-11pm and Saturday-Sunday, 1pm-11pm.

Math Center

Math Center tutoring services will be available online and in-person by appointment for spring 2021. Social distancing and face coverings are required for in-person help. The Math Center provides Math Faculty tutors for free, so please take advantage of this opportunity.

 

In-Person Tutoring Appointments

Use the website https://nwacc.libcal.com/reserve/math to set up an appointment for in-person tutoring.

Online Tutoring Appointments

Use the website https://nwacc.libcal.com/appointments/math to set up an appointment for in-person tutoring.


Feel free to also email mathcenter@nwacc.edu if you have questions about tutoring. Please allow up to 48 hours for responses (weekend emails will be answered on Monday).

 

To Rent Calculators from the Math Department please contact Brenda Andrews at bandrews3@nwacc.edu

 
 

Writing Center

Email consultations: Students may access this resource through the Writing Center website at https://www.nwacc.edu/studentsuccess/writingcenter/default.aspx

Complete the form and attach their document for review.  A tutor will read and provide feedback through nwacc email.

Virtual tutoring:  Interested students should contact Mrs. Bach directly through NWACC email at lbach1@nwacc.edu and a tutor will then contact the student with a Zoom one-on-one appointment

Students may access grammar and writing tutorials and exercises through the Writing Center’s Resource link

https://www.nwacc.edu/studentsuccess/writingcenter/writersresources.aspx

Microsoft Office For Students

Contact the NWACC Information Technology Help Desk for information on MS Office software: 479-619-4357 or techsupport@nwacc.edu, or use the link immediately below.

NWACC-Bentonville Academic Support Services

Service

Location

Contact Information

IT Help Desk BH1136

479-619-4357

techsupport@nwacc.edu

Tutoring

Tutors located in the Library

Online only Fall 2020

 

479-936-5140

success@nwacc.edu

Distance Learning/Canvas Support   DL@nwacc.edu

Math Center

SC344A

Fall 2020

Book an appointment online

in-person appointments available Monday-Thursday, 10am-6pm

Email mathcenter@nwacc.edu to set up an online appointment.

mathcenter@nwacc.edu

Testing Center  

 

479-619-4354

testingcenter@nwacc.edu

Veterans Resource Center  

479-619-2273

veteranresources@nwacc.edu

Writing and Academic Literacy Center BH1003

479-986-6929

writingcenter@nwacc.edu

Information Commons

BH1217 Book a Computer (pc or mac) or Study Space

hours

479-619-4241

library@nwacc.edu

Library

Physical space closed Fall 2020, Library Collections availablefor Grab and Go Pick Up in the Information Commons in BH1217

Library available online

479-619-4244, circulation

479-619-4315, reference

library@nwacc.edu

NWACC-Washington County Computer Access

Computer Lab

Room

Who can use it?

Hours

Special Software

WC Information Commons rm. 111 Anyone

10am-12pm and 1pm-3pm,

Monday-Thursday

 

 

Internet Access Off-campus

Internet Connectivity Options Off-Campus

  • The NWACC Library provides a limited number of Wifi hotspots for checkout. Students must have an Equipment  Agreement Form on file and be enrolled in the current semester. For more information email library@nwacc.edu
  • Many educational institutions and libraries, including NWACC, have extended their Wifi access to parking lots for public use. This is available in Bentonville outside Burns Hall and at the Washington County building.
  • The City of Fayetteville maintains free, public internet access locations. Visitors to these locations can connect with smartphones, tablets, laptops and other Wifi-enabled devices. 
  • The Federal Communications Commission runs the Lifeline program, which makes communications services more affordable for low-income consumers. Lifeline provides subscribers a discount on monthly telephone service, broadband Internet service, or bundled voice-broadband packages purchased from participating wireline or wireless providers--Currently "...up to a $9.25 monthly discount on service for eligible low-income subscribers and up to $34.25 per month for those on Tribal lands. Subscribers may receive a Lifeline discount on either a wireline or a wireless service, but they may not receive a discount on both services at the same time. Lifeline also supports broadband Internet service and broadband-voice bundles. FCC rules prohibit more than one Lifeline service per household."
  • Companies that provide Lifeline by Zipcode
  • Do I Qualify for the Lifeline program?

 Emergency Broadband Benefit (EBB) Coming Soon!

The Emergency Broadband Benefit is an FCC program to help households struggling to pay for internet service during the pandemic. This new benefit will connect eligible households to jobs, critical healthcare services, and virtual classrooms.

From the FCC:

  • The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) launched a new Emergency Broadband Benefit resource last week.   The tool allows partners and consumers to view by state or territory the providers that will be participating in the Emergency Broadband Benefit program.  Each listing includes the type of service offered, whether it’s “fixed” or “mobile”, and whether the provider offers connected devices as part of the program. Please note, the list will be updated daily to include newly-approved participating providers.  

https://www.fcc.gov/emergency-broadband-benefit-providers

 


  • Burns Hall 1304
    1 College Drive, Bentonville, AR 72712
  • Call: 479-619-4244 | Text: 479-802-0570
  • About Us
  • Check us out on Facebook Watch us on YouTubeEmail Us