Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chicago Style Quick Guide: Bibliography

What's a Bibliography?

In addition to notes, Chicago also requires that you also include a Bibliography page at the end of your paper. The Bibliography section includes the full publication information for the sources referenced in your in-text citation, for instance, the author, title, publisher, publication date, medium of publication, and so on. Note that the format for notes and bibliographic entries vary slightly. Rules and examples for both are provided below.

Basic Rules

  • Your Bibliography should be located at the end of your paper, on a separate page.
  • Title the page Bibliography and center the title at the top of the page.
  • Leave two blank lines between “Bibliography” and the first entry.
  • Single space entries that require more than one line.
  • For entries that require more than one line, indent each line after the initial line five spaces, creating what is called a “hanging indent.”
  • Place an extra space between entries.
  • Alphabetize the entries by the authors’ last names.
  • Alphabetize sources without a credited author by title. When alphabetizing by title, ignore articles (a/an/the).
  • Capitalize the first world and each word thereafter in the titles of articles, books, chapters and so on, except for articles (a/an/the), prepositions (of/on/with), and conjunctions (and/but/for).

For More Information


  • Burns Hall 1304
    1 College Drive, Bentonville, AR 72712
  • Call: 479-619-4244 | Text: 479-802-0570
  • About Us
  • Check us out on Facebook Watch us on YouTubeEmail Us