It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learn how to format in-text citations and works cited entries in MLA Style. Learning the Core Elements of the MLA works cited entry help format any source. Created especially for NWACC assignments, this guide is NWACC Writing Center and English faculty reviewed.
Official Chicago style, in easy-to-use, printable PDF paper-writing tip sheets for students. Guidelines are per Kate L. Turabian, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (9th ed.) and are fully compatible with The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.).
[Important: Directions from your instructor overrule these guidelines.]
Download this MS Word template of ASA 5th ed. Citation style.
FORMATTING YOUR PAPER (This is a Level One section heading.)
AMA citation style is intended to prepare a scholarly article for publication in a medical research journal, such as JAMA or New England Journal of Medicine. AMA does not address formatting a college research paper. There are no standards on formatting like we'd expect to find. For example, line spacing, page numbers, etc.
Many NWACC instructors provide assignments that spell out the formatting requirements. When the assignment does not provide specific formatting instructions, use these recommended guidelines.
Formatting Guidelines (This is a Level Two section heading.)
Font: Times New Roman 12 pt.
Line Spacing: Single
Margins: 1 inch
Page Numbers: Arabic numerals in the upper right corner (1, 2, 3, etc.)
Student's Name and Information: Upper left of first page, flush against the margin.. Include:
Title of Paper: Centered on the page in bold type.
Section Headings: See samples above.
LEVEL ONE: All caps, bold, flush on the left margin. Begin content on the line below.
Level Two: Title case, bold, flush on left margin. Begin content on the line below. What is "title case?" Title Case is when the first letter of each main word is capitalized. Example of Title Case.
REFERENCES: Use a Level One section heading.
Section heading: REFERENCES or REFERENCE LIST are both acceptable.
Numbered list (1, 2, 3, etc.)
Sources are listed in the order used in the paper.
Single space entries.
Double space between entries.
FORMATTING REFERENCE LIST ENTRIES
Because the current version of AMA Citation Style has some ambiguities, NWACC classes use the formatting shown below. Use of citation generators may not produce the same results and result in scoring or grade deductions. For NWACC assignments, use the following format. More information can be found in the Quick Guide pdf document above.
Book Part / Chapter / Entry in a Book
If it is an ebook or online source, just add the URL & an access date. If it's a print book, just leave those off.
No period after the URL
Chapter/Entry Author(s) (if any). Chapter/entry title. In: Editor’s name, ed. Book Title. Vol. number (if any). Edition number (if 2nd or higher). Publisher’s name; copyright year:page range (if any). Accessed [date]. URL
The AP Stylebook is widely used as a writing and editing reference in newsrooms, classrooms and corporate offices worldwide. Note: NWACC's license allows 10 users to access the AP Stylebook concurrently.
MLA Handbook by The Modern Language; The Modern Language Association of AmericaTeaching and learning MLA style is about to get easier. For nearly seventy years, the Modern Language Association has helped student writers choose trustworthy sources and use them to support their own ideas. Now, the authority on writing and research presents the clearest approach to MLA style yet with the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook. The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting. An all-in-one resource that makes MLA style easier to learn and use, the MLA Handbook includes: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism. Although there are numerous websites, apps, reference works, and cheat sheets that claim to help with MLA style, there's only one truly authoritative resource to help your students on their paths to becoming better writers. The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is the most comprehensive guide the MLA has ever produced, with an all-inclusive approach to writing, research, documentation, and formatting.
Publication Date: 2021-05-30
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological AssociationThe Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: ASK AT FRONT DESK
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Staff (Editor)The Sixteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Style is in both versions. While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book—including a return to the Manual’s popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters. With the wisdom of a hundred years of editorial practice and a wealth of industry expertise from both Chicago’s staff and an advisory board of publishing professionals, The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, is an invaluable resource in this rapidly changing world. If you work with words—no matter what the delivery medium—this is the one reference you simply must have.
AMA Manual of Style by Cheryl Iverson (Editor); Stacy Christiansen (Editor); Annette Flanagin (Editor); JAMA and Archives Journals Staff (Editor)The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates are included in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updated guidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-date on word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations. Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer to nearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style. Customers who purchase the Special Online Bundle Package receive the hardcover 11th edition, with a one-year subscription to the Online Edition. The unique access code will arrive with the hardcover book. Available for institutional purchase or subscription or individual subscription. Visit AMAManualofStyle.com or contact your sales rep for more details.