Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To gain familiarity with your topic.
To narrow your topic by finding specific aspects on which to focus.
To provide historical and social context.
To identify experts related to the topic.
Culinary & Food Science Databases
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Online science and technology encyclopedia covering all major scientific disciplines. Includes primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for instructors.
AtoZ World Food This link opens in a new window
With thousands of international recipes, hundreds of fascinating culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources, AtoZ World Food brings international cuisines to you, from Albanian byrek to Zimbabwean matemba! Recipes can be printed, emailed, or saved to your account for later.
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. *This is a Traveler resource. The Traveler Statewide Resource project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Food Science Source This link opens in a new window
This extensive full-text database is designed to support the informational needs of the food industry at all levels. It offers cover-to-cover content for hundreds of publications all directly dealing with food industry-related issues.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 1.1 million records, with coverage dating back to 1931, with full text for over 525 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. Full-text periodicals include Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Education, Hosteur, Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research, Current Issues in Tourism, International Journal of Tourism Research, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Leisure Sciences, Nation's Restaurant News, Restaurant Business and many more.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Offers a wide variety of full-text interdisciplinary content on virtually any subject area to tackle assignments, papers, projects and presentations. The database includes thousands of full-text proprietary titles from Gale and more than 80 strategic publishing partners, including the complete contents of Drama for Students, Epics for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry for Students, and Short Stories for Students.
General Reference (Encyclopedias)
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the insightful Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research—all from one resource.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Covers every major subject, from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. The award-winning titles in Credo Reference include general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more. Credo's collections are continuously updated to reflect the most relevant, up-to-date content.
Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
Selected e-books in literature, history, science & health. All books in this collection are also available in print in the Library.
Streaming Video Sources
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online: Premium is Alexander Street's most comprehensive video subscription. Launched in 2013, this expansive resource comprises the full content of dozens of video collections and bonus discipline clusters, and grows by 7,000 titles each year.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Watch thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases. Stream documentaries and feature films from thousands of leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources. The library purchases 1-year licenses to individual titles from Kanopy's collection in support of the college's curriculum. Please contact the library for access.