Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Linking to Database Content in Canvas, Email, and Online: Britannica

This guide explains how to create "permalinks" to articles, videos, electronic books, and other content within NWACC Library's subscrption databases.

Linking to Articles in Britannica Databases While Off Campus

To link to content in Britannica databases--for instance, Britannica Online Encyclopedia and Annals of American History--while off campus  (for instance, from your home), follow these steps. These instructions only work off campus. Please see the other set of instructions when on campus:

1. Locate the article you want to link to in a Britannica database.

2. Highlight and copy the complete URL in the address bar. (See screenshot.)


3. Paste the URL into Blackboard, an email, on a website, or wherever else you want to share the article.


4. A direct link to the article will appear.



5. When off-campus users click this link, they'll be asked to log in with their My NWACC Connection username and password.



6. After logging in, off-campus users will be taken directly to the full-text article. (On-campus users, don't have to authenticate. They'll be immediately taken to the article when they click the link.)

Linking to Articles in Britannica Databases While On Campus

To link to content in Britannica databases--for instance, Britannica Online Encyclopedia and Annals of American History--while on campus, follow these steps. These instructions only work on campus. Please see the other set of instructions when off campus:

1. Locate the article you want to link to in a Britannica database.

2. Highlight and copy the complete URL in the address bar. (See screenshot.)



3. Paste the URL into Blackboard, an email, on a website, or wherever else you want to share the article.


4. Before saving or sending the link, paste the following referring URL in front of the document URL:

http://proxy01.nwacc.edu:2048/login?url=

(Adding this referring URL is necessary because it points to an NWACC authentication server, to verify that the user is authorized to access the database. Not adding this referring URL will make the link inaccessible to off-campus users.)

For instance, the following document URL...

http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/637431/Watergate-scandal/

...should be formatted like this before it's shared with other members of the NWACC community:

http://proxy01.nwacc.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/637431/Watergate-scandal/

After adding the referring URL, save or send the link.



4. A direct link to the article will appear.



5. When off-campus users click this link, they'll be asked to log in with their My NWACC Connection username and password.



6. After logging in, off-campus users will be taken directly to the full-text article. (On-campus users, don't have to authenticate. They'll be immediately taken to the article when they click the link.)


  • Burns Hall 1304
    1 College Drive, Bentonville, AR 72712
  • Call: 479-619-4244 | Text: 479-802-0570
  • About Us
  • Check us out on Facebook Watch us on YouTubeEmail Us