Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Associated Press Stylebook This link opens in a new window
The AP Stylebook is widely used as a writing and editing reference in newsrooms, classrooms and corporate offices worldwide. Note: NWACC's license allows 10 users to access the AP Stylebook concurrently.
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1851 - 2016.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Covers every major subject, from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. The award-winning titles in Credo Reference include general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more. Credo's collections are continuously updated to reflect the most relevant, up-to-date content.
Power Search Tools
Use these to find all types of source, including research starters (explainers), scholarly/academic sources and popular sources, such as news, magazines, books, and more.
The Library's most powerful search tool lets you search a majority of all available search tools at once.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
A great choice for beginning college researchers, this search tool is easy to use and searches all of the Gale tools at once.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This user-friendly and powerful tool searches all ProQuest content at once, good scholarly sources that "Search Everything" might miss.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statistical data from thousands of credible sources.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
World and national newspapers and transcripts of broadcast news reports. Includes The Northwest Arkansas Democrat Gazette.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Up-to-the minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. news content back to the 1980s.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, magazines, and journals from ethnic and independent presses from 1990 to present.
Use the following call number ranges to browse our catalog for topics in journalism.
PN 4735-4748—Relation to the state. Government and the press. Liberty of the press
PN 4775-4784—Journalism technique. Practical journalism
PN 4825-4830—Amateur journalism
PN 4832-4836—Magazines and other periodicals
PN 4840-5648—Journalism by region or country
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
There are more than 130,000 eBooks in this collection, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, MIT Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, McGill-Queen's University Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Additional academic publishers include Elsevier Ltd.; Ashgate Publishing Ltd; Taylor & Francis Ltd; Sage Publications, Ltd. and John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information. *This is a Traveler resource. The Traveler Statewide Resource project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.