LibGuides: World Religions: Reference: Topic Overviews & More

Recommended Databases for Researching World Religions

To access, you may be prompted for your Blackboard/My NWACC Connection login credentials.

RESEARCH TIP: The info button next to each database leads to descriptions, search tips, and/or video tutorials.

Reference: Topic Overviews & More

The research databases below are best for topic overviews, background info, brief facts, statistics, definitions, etc. from subject-specific and general encyclopedias, textbooks, dictionaries, and other reference sources. They cover a broad array of topics, and may also include additional resources beyond reference materials.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Covers every major subject, from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. The award-winning titles in Credo Reference include general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more. Credo's collections are continuously updated to reflect the most relevant, up-to-date content.
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Provides access to cultural reports, statistics, and primary source material for countries across the globe, including the United States and Canadian provinces. Includes unique information such as native recipes, interviews, photos and videos. Contains four modules: World, States, Provinces, and Kids.

*This is a Traveler resource. The Traveler Statewide Resource project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Offers a wide variety of full-text interdisciplinary content on virtually any subject area to tackle assignments, papers, projects and presentations. The database includes thousands of full-text proprietary titles from Gale and more than 80 strategic publishing partners, including the complete contents of Drama for Students, Epics for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry for Students, and Short Stories for Students.
Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Provides access to magazines, newspapers, and reference books through one easy interface. This general interest database offers the latest content covering current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, healthcare to immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.

What Is a Reference Source?

A reference source is a work used for looking up specific information.

Purpose: Reference works are typically used to look up specific information, and are generally not read from cover to cover like a novel.

Scope: Reference works usually present broad information overviews and/or quick summaries with limited detailed analysis. Some reference books cover broad topics, such as a dictionary of English language, while others cover more focused topics, such as a dictionary of transportation logistics terminology.

Format: Reference works are available in print, media, and electronic format.

Organization: Reference works are arranged in a specific order (such as alphabetical, chronological, topical, etc.) and/or provide tools (indices, hyperlinks, cross-references, etc.) to help the user find information efficiently.