LibGuides: World Religions: Articles: Academic Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers

Recommended Databases for Researching World Religions

To access, you may be prompted for your Blackboard/My NWACC Connection login credentials.

RESEARCH TIP: The info button next to each database leads to descriptions, search tips, and/or video tutorials.

Magazines vs. Journals

Having a hard time telling magazines apart from academic or professional journals? Here are some helpful clues:

Magazines:

Intended for general audiences
Often written by generalists
Articles do not undergo peer review
May report on research secondhand
Often do not include citations
Easy to read
Attractive layout and photographs
Many advertisements
Published commercially for profit

Journals:

Written for experts by experts or students in the field
Articles often undergo peer review
Often report on original research
Articles include citations
Lots of technical jargon
Illustrations often limited to charts
Few or no advertisements
Often published by educational institutions or professional groups

Databases Links

The following databases are best for finding original research, current events, and other articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers--although you'll find other types of content (images, videos, audio files, ebooks, etc.) as well. They cover a range of topics.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank's Access World News database features full-text articles from national and world newspapers and transcripts of broadcast news reports. The database includes full text from the Northwest Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (2015-present), Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (1994-present), Arkansas Times (2004-present), Arkansas Traveler (2004-present), Benton County Daily Record (2001-2015), Morning News of Northwest Arkansas (2004-2009), Northwest Arkansas Times (2001-2015), Rogers Morning News (2009-2015), and Springdale Morning News (2009-2015).
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Iincludes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses. Content covers 1990-present, with specialized coverage of the following ethnic categories: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People. It is updated daily with new content and contains over 2 million full text articles. *This is a Traveler resource. The Traveler Statewide Resource project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Cross-search the content of multiple Gale databases (including the content of Gale eBook titles) at one time through a streamlined, common user interface.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers. The database also contains full text for more than 300 regional newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
The premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from offshore drilling to climate change, healthcare to immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. *This is a Traveler resource. The Traveler Statewide Resource project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Offers analysis and opinions covering the pros, cons, and everything in between for 325 social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues. Editorially created Topic Overview pages with engaging Essential Questions with answers, and viewpoint articles help build solid foundations for understanding the issues. Articles and graphics in SIRS Issues Researcher are carefully selected according to strict SIRS criteria for content reliability, relevance, and age-appropriateness.

*This is a Traveler resource. The Traveler Statewide Resource project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
Students, teachers, and librarians can use TOPICsearch to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom. To support discussion, TOPICsearch contains full text for more than 85,000 articles from diverse content sources.

What Are Scholarly Journals?

Finding Journals by Title

The Journals A-to-Z tool tells you whether the NWACC Library currently has full-text access to a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper.

Simply search for the publication's title (Time, National Geographic, etc.) in the main search field. Search results will include links to databases that contain full-text articles.